Cruisers’ Danielson SPSL fastpitch Coach of the Year

10:08 pm June 4th, 2012

Erik Danielson of Eatonville High School was named Coach of the Year and four players from his team were selected for the second team as the South Puget Sound League 2A announced its all-conference honors for the 2012 season. Danielson, in his sixth season as the Cruisers’ coach, guided them to a third-place finish in the SPSL and an 11-5 record this spring. They reached the West Central District tournament, bowing out with a 3-2 first-round loss to Lindbergh. For all-league honors, KK Voss and Morgan Maida were named to the second team as infielders, along with Sam Cox as an outfielder and Maddy Smith as a utility player. Maida also starred as a pitcher, including a two-game stretch when she struck out 12 Steilacoom batters in a 7-2 victory May 8 and then hurled a five-inning no-hitter May 9 in a 1-0 decision over Fife. She also hit a game-winning home run as her team beat North Mason 8-7 May 12 in the sub-district playoffs. Three Cruisers received honorable mention in the all-league recognition – Alicia White and Kendra Trummert among the infielders and catchers, and Stacey West as an outfielder. The league’s top honors were awarded to Kelli Crawford of league champion Franklin Pierce as Player of the Year, and to Allie Sims of Sumner as Pitcher of the Year. Named to the all-league first team were catcher Sam Mitchell of White River, infielders Stephanie Franco and Anna Lennox of Franklin Pierce, Emily Campion of Steilacoom and Kayla Smith of White River, outfielders Mackenzie Bourbanis of Fife, Lani Cabana of Steilacoom and Paige Deck of Franklin Pierce, and utiity player Lenessa Nelson of Franklin Pierce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *