School board winners: Litzenberger in Eatonville, Hoffman in Bethel

8:32 pm November 5th, 2013

Early results in the general election have an incumbent being re-elected to the Eatonville School Board and an attorney winning a race for the Bethel School Board.
Ronda Litzenberger, seeking her second full term on the Eatonville board, is leading David Jacobson, whose career in education included time as a principal and teacher for Eatonville schools. Litzenberger had 56 of the votes.
Amy Pivetta Hoffman, an attorney who has volunteered in the Bethel district, is ahead of Rick Payne in their contest for Position 4 on Bethel’s board. Hoffman is polling 71 of the votes after initial reporting of returns following the close of voting Tuesday.
Three other local school board races have candidates who are running unopposed – Jeff Lucas in Eatonville and Stan Chapin and Warren Smith in Bethel.
In the race between Litzenberger and Jacobson, Litzenberger stressed keeping pressure on the Legislature to provide full state funding of education as directed by the state Supreme Court, while Jacobson put a particular focus on school security.
Hoffman, a first-time candidate, has called for better on-time high school graduation rates. Tightened security at school buildings was a focus for Payne, who ran for the board in 2011, losing in the primary election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *