• Volunteers in the Bethel School District were honored by the School Board recently for their efforts on behalf of students. The volunteers include LeAnn Wildfang (Cougar Mountain Middle School), Carol Dittbenner (Roy Elementary School), and Bonnie Swasey and Tristina Fish (Centennial Elementary School), Janelle Wall (Evergreen Elementary School, Tamisha Moroles (Naches Trail Elementary School), and Alicia Deery (Thompson Elelmentary School).
Also honored recently were three Spanaway Middle School teachers – Kari Turner, Lois Noble, and Sharon Coward – as Star Teacher Awards. They were cited by district superintendent Tom Seigel for working as a team in STEM instruction (science, technology, engineering and math).

• Alexis White, a junior from Graham who is majoring in biological sciences, is on the Honors List at Missouri University of Science and Technology.
The honor at the university in Rolla, Mo. is reserved for students with a grade point average of 3.2 or above.

• Katherine Wilcox, who’s from Roy, is on Whitworoth University's latest Provost's Honor Roll. She qualified for the academic honor society by maintaining a grade-point average of at least 3.75 for the semester.
Whitworth is located in Spokane and has about 3,000 students.