September 19, 2018

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Education Director Louisa Koch, Director of the Campaign for Environmental Literacy James L. Elder, and Director of the Center for Green Schools at the U.S. Green Building Council Anisa Heming joined Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education Frank Brogan today to congratulate Eatonville Elementary/Eatonville School District 404 on their achievements at a ceremony at the U.S. Department of Commerce in Washington, D.C.

Eatonville Elementary School was nominated by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Washington state, for their work in reducing environmental impact and costs, improving the health and wellness of schools, student, and staff, and providing effective environmental and sustainability education, incorporating STEM, civic skills, and green career pathways.

“Eatonville Elementary is so honored to receive the Green Ribbon Schools Award. Our students and staff work hard every day to sustain what we have started and will continue to pursue healthy and green initiatives. We want to thank the sponsors and our extended community for their support in this endeavor.” Diane Heersink, Principal of Eatonville Elementary School.

“Eatonville Elementary has time and time again, proved their excellence as an innovative school and a school of Distinction. The Staff has embraced student achievement, A-STEM and this award is evidence of their commitment to all children. We are so excited for the students and the community to able to offer such an excellent public school.” Krestin Bahr, Eatonville School District Superintendent

At the event, 46 schools and six districts were honored for their innovative efforts to reduce environmental impact and costs, promote better health, and ensure effective environmental education. In addition, six colleges and universities were honored with the Postsecondary Sustainability Award. Representatives from honored schools, districts, and postsecondary institutions received sustainably crafted plaques in recognition of their achievements.

The honorees were named from a pool of candidates nominated by 25 states and the Department of Defense Department of Education Activity. The selectees include 40 public schools, including two magnet schools and two charter schools, as well as six nonpublic schools. Forty-five percent of the 2018 honorees serve a disadvantaged student body.