OLYMPIA—September 25, 2018—Today, Superintendent of Public Instruction Chris Reykdal announced that four teachers from Washington have been selected as state-level finalists for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

The state-level finalists are:
Matthew Pederson, a fifth grade teacher at Weyerhaeuser Elementary in Eatonville School District.

Also chosen were:
• Julie Fry (NBCT*), a first grade teacher at Roosevelt Elementary in Yakima School District.
• Veronique Paquette (NBCT*), a second grade teacher at Kenroy Elementary in Eastmont School District.
• Angela Salo, a fifth grade teacher at DeLong Elementary in Tacoma School District.

A statewide committee of content area experts and award-winning teachers selected the finalists over the summer.

“Congratulations to the four excellent teachers being recognized this year,” said Superintendent Reykdal. “Angela, Julie, Matthew, and Veronique are exemplary proof of the impact you can make in the lives of our students. Thank you for teaching in our state, for being leaders in your field, and for supporting Washington’s youngest learners.”

The national PAEMST program typically announces award recipients in the spring. State-level finalists are recognized by regional and state math and science associations. They are also invited to several annual state events for award winning educators.