September 19, 2018

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Education Director Louisa Koch, Director of the Campaign for Environmental Literacy James L. Elder, and Director of the Center for Green Schools at the U.S. Green Building Council Anisa Heming joined Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education Frank Brogan today to congratulate Weyerhaeuser Elementary/Eatonville School District 404 on their achievements at a ceremony at the U.S. Department of Commerce in Washington, D.C.

Weyerhaeuser Elementary School was nominated by the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Washington state, for their work in reducing environmental impact and costs, improving the health and wellness of schools, student, and staff, and providing effective environmental and sustainability education, incorporating STEM, civic skills, and green career pathways.

“I am so proud of the exemplary work around sustainability and environmental education that has become a foundation of what we do at Weyerhaeuser Elementary. Our students are incredibly fortunate to have such a supportive network of teachers, support staff and parents ensuring that their education experiences go beyond the four walls of their classrooms and impact the world around them. To be recognized as a 2018 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School is such an honor.” Amy Sturdivant, Principal.

“The Green Ribbon School Award is an honor for Weyerhaeuser Elementary. The innovative work designed and accomplished by this exemplary staff is awesome. Student centered and STEM infused, the practices at this school are exemplary of what American public schools can offer all children. We are so proud of this school!” Krestin Bahr, Eatonville School District Superintendent.

At the event, 46 schools and six districts were honored for their innovative efforts to reduce environmental impact and costs, promote better health, and ensure effective environmental education. In addition, six colleges and universities were honored with the Postsecondary Sustainability Award. Representatives from honored schools, districts, and postsecondary institutions received sustainably crafted plaques in recognition of their achievements.

The honorees were named from a pool of candidates nominated by 25 states and the Department of Defense Department of Education Activity. The selectees include 40 public schools, including two magnet schools and two charter schools, as well as six nonpublic schools. Forty-five percent of the 2018 honorees serve a disadvantaged student body.