Ballots for the Aug. 2 primary election have been mailed out, and some voters may see some changes.  A few congressional, legislative and County Council lines have changed following the 2020 Census. These adjustments, made every 10 years, can surprise voters.

Voters whose districts have changed will continue to be represented by the same officeholder until the end of the year. But those voters will be asked to vote in their new district during the 2022 primary and general elections.

For example, voters who have been represented by Congressman Adam Smith in the 9th Congressional District will continue to be represented by him through Jan. 2, 2023. They will not see the 9th Congressional District on their ballots in August and November, and instead will be voting for the 6th Congressional District. Other parts of Pierce County have seen smaller changes as district lines have moved due to population changes and redistricting. All voters were mailed new voter registration cards listing their new districts in May. Congressional and Legislative lines were approved by the Washington State Redistricting Commission in November 2021 and amended by the Legislature on Feb. 8, 2022. Pierce County Council Districts were approved by the Pierce County Districting Committee on Dec. 16, 2021. The Pierce County Council approved the new precinct lines on March 15, 2022.

People have until Monday to register to vote online for the upcoming election, People have until Aug. 2 to register to vote in person at Pierce County Election Center, 2501 S. 35th St., Suite C, Tacoma.

In Eatonville, drop boxes are at Barney’s Corner, 40512 Meridian E., and Eatonville Town Hall, 201 Center St. W. In Graham, drop boxes can be found at Graham Fire & Rescue, 10012 187th St. E., Puyallup, and Graham Library, 9202 224th St. E., Graham. People have until 8 p.m. Aug. 2 to return their ballots. Go to for more information.