Sarah Wheat Whittaker in the Cine Round
Sarah Wheat Whittaker in the Cine Round
With 40 plus very carefully chosen films, including the incredibly creative films from our TSMR (The Student Movie Riff), the Rainier Independent Film Festival was a success with attendance numbers higher than any previous year.

Returning filmmakers Gary Lundgren, Shawn-Caulin Young, Aimie Vallet and Lukas Hassel all brought amazing films to RIFF 2019. Lukas Hassel took home the Best Short Narrative award and Aimie Vallet won Best Short Documentary making them both two-time RIFF winners.

Other awards went to Director Sean D. Cunningham for “Hudson” as Best Feature Narrative and Best Feature Documentary was won by “Mossville”, directed by Alexander Glustrom. Audience Favorite with nearly a perfect 5 out of 5 score from the audience, went to “Return to Mount Kennedy” directed by Eric Becker and “Last Requests” directed by Courtenay Johnson won the Rainier Llama Award.

Third place TSMR winner was the “Peanut Plant” team with Emma Boynton, a Graham-Kapowsin student, along with Lila (10 years old) and Sawyer (4 years old) Boynton. Second place went to Emily Frey and Mackenzie Waller of Eatonville High school with “Blackout Productions” and first place winner with 3GG Productions from Mossyrock: Isabel Nixon Klein, Scarlet Nixon Klein, Finn Greiter, Gus Greiter, Rosealyn Langham and Joshua Gerlach. The festival had 15 teams meet the deadline for the competition and we are so proud of them all.

Check soon for the 2020 festival dates along with submission dates. Looking forward to 2020!