Schaub running for second term as mayor

By Pat Jenkins
The Dispatch
As candidates plot their official entries this month in races for local and regional offices that are up for election this year, voters in Eatonville can expect their current mayor to put his name in the hat.
Mike Schaub said he plans to run for re-election for the office he has held since 2014.
"I look forward to the opportunity to serve the citizens for another four years," he said.
Since being elected to his first four-year term as mayor after serving for six years as Eatonville's elected treasurer, "the town has made significant strides forward in its financial condition, and I believe we can continue to build on that success," Schaub said. "I've enjoyed working with the current (Town Hall) staff who believe in providing quality service, care about doing a good job, and improving services for the community."
No other candidacies for mayor have been announced. When he ran in 2013, Schaub had three opponents in the primary election. He beat Gordon Bowman, a former Town Council member, in the general election.
A five-day candidate filing period with the Pierce County elections department begins May 15. The deadlines are on May 19 at 4 p.m. for filing online at, and on the same date at 4:30 p.m. for in-person filing at the county's Election Center, located at 2501 S. 35th St. in Tacoma.
Countywide, a combined 204 offices are on the ballot this year. They range from municipal and Port of Tacoma positions to school boards and fire districts. Twenty-two positions will be on the ballot for voters in the south Pierce County area. Those offices and current officeholders include:
• Town of Eatonville: Mayor; Town Council Positions 1 (Jennifer Hannah), 2 (Bob Walter), and 3 (William Dunn).
• School boards: Bethel (Warren Smith and Stanley Chapin); Eatonville (Ronda Litzenberger and Liza Klumpar).
• Tacoma Port Commissioner (countywide offices): Positions 1 (Connie Bacon), 2 (Dick Marzano) and 4 (Don Meyer).
• Fire district commissioners: South Pierce Fire and Rescue (John Sebastian and Daniel Morris); Graham Fire and Rescue (Gerry Gustafson and Gina Blanchard-Reed); Ashford Fire District 23 (Teri Farcy).
• Water district commissioners: Ashford (Rick Johnson and Ryan Mettler); Clear Lake (Scott Jamison); Elbe (Jackie Chappell, Julie Clark, Gayle Adams); Kapowsin (Tricia Hodge, Jeff Scott, and Position 1, which is vacant).
All candidates must be a registered voter in their district or jurisdiction at the time they file with the elections department.
The primary election will end Aug. 1. The last day of the general election is Nov. 7. Voting in both begins 18 days before those dates.
Additional information, including a list of open offices and information about being a candidate, is available at


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment