General election is official

Results of the general election that ended earlier this month are official with certification of the final numbers today by the Pierce County auditor. Highlights locally for voters in south Pierce County include: " Closest race: Richard Thurston defeated Bruce Lachney by 204 votes for a seat on the county's Charter Review Commission. " New officeholders: In addition to Thurston, Amy Cruver and Greg Hartman, who are among 21 citizens elected countywide for charter reviwe panel, the newcomers are Adam Rosenlund (Graham Fire and Rescue commissioner) and Robert Thomas (Eatonville Town Council). Rosenlund unseated Robert Skaggs, whose 25 years in office made him one of the longest-serving current elected officials in Pierce County. " The highest voter turnout among local jurisdictions was 31.3 percent of the voters living in the Town of Eatonville. Elsewhere, 28 percent of the voters in the Graham Fire and Rescue district cast ballots, as did 27 percent in County Council District 3. The countywide percentage was 33 percent. In other results that remained unchanged from early, unofficial returns from voting that concluded Nov. 3, 59 percent of voters countywide voted to stop the county's plan to build a general -services office building in Tacoma. The mandate is for the county to repeal an earlier County Council approval of the project, which encountered stiff opposition among the public because of its projected cost. for the process of reviewing and recommending possible changes to the county's home-rule charter,
Charter Review Commission, District 3 Position 1: Amy Cruver 8,171 (52.9 percent), Jason Bergstrom 7,047 (48.6 percent) Position 2: Richard Thurston 7,772 (50.1 percent), Bruce Lachney 7,568 (48.8 percent) Position 3: Greg Hartman 7,979 (51.8 percent), Kerry Hooks 7,232 (47 percent)
Eatonville Town Council Position 3: Robert Thomas 234 (60.3 percent), Nick Junkz 151 (38.9 percent) Position 4: Abby Gribi 345 Position 5: James Schrimpsher 314
Eatonville Treasurer Lori Smith 353
Graham Fire and Rescue commissioner Position 3: Adam Rosenlund 4,780 (58.9 percent), Robert Skaggs 3,256 (40.1 percent)
Clear Lake Water District commissioner Position 1: Scott Jamison 43 Position 2: Dean Pitsch Jr. 45


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment