Eatonville Town Council organizes for a new year

The Eatonville Town Council’s Jan. 13 meeting – the first of 2020 – saw the legislative body take care of some housekeeping duties in preparation for the new year.

By a vote of 5-0, the council passed Resolution 2020-A, authorizing Mayor Mike Schaub to execute a collective bargaining agreement with the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local No. 483 for a two-year term, from Jan. 31, 2020 through Dec. 31, 2021.

Also by a 5-0 vote, the council amended Attachment A to the operational services agreement with Pierce County Fire Protections District No. 17, doing business as South Pierce Fire and Rescue.

The council discussed the decision to allow bicycles and scooters at Eatonville Skate Park through the end of 2019. By a vote of 5-0, the council decided to extend the period allowing people to operate bicycles and scooters within the confines of the skate park through Sept. 30, 2020. Plans call for a decision to be made some time after than on whether or not to permanently allow bicycles and scooters in the park.

Committee appointments for the new year were voted on as follows:

-Airport Committee: Chair Robert Thomas and Co-chair Jennie Hannah

-Finance Committee: Chair Bill Dunn and Co-chair Emily McFadden

-Parks and Recreation Committee: Chair Bob Walter and Co-chair Robert Thomas

-Public Safety Committee: Chair Bob Walter and Co-chair Jennie Hannah

-Utilities Committee: Chair Emily McFadden and Co-chair Bill Dunn

Emily McFadden was elected the council’s representative to the Pierce County Regional Council, with Bill Dunn elected as an alternate.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment