County Council appoints members to equity committeeBrett

Pierce County’s Equity Review Committee, created earlier this year by the Pierce County Council to make sure policy-level decision making is diverse and inclusive, is now populated with members.

“This appoints the facilitator and members of the Equity Review Committee,” explained principal policy analyst William Bridges before the council voted unanimously on a resolution doing just that.

Retired Pierce County Superior Court Judge Frank Cuthbertson will facilitate the group.

Voting members of the committee include Tiffany Robson, Scott Harrison, Jmarie Johnson-Kola, Paul Herrera, Harvey Gilchrist, Russell Alfaro, Andrew Jimenez, Dr. Latoya Brackett, Fahren Johnson, Dr. Angie Hambrick, Jim Cook, Dawn Peters, RoxAnne Simon and Priya Saxena.

Non-voting members are Gary Robinson, Judy Archer, Michael Kawamura, Nina Caldwell, Karl Williams, Lauren Wallin and Clarence Henderson.

The council passed a related resolution, this time by a 4-3 vote, approving committee members receiving a stipend of $75 for each day they attend meetings. The stipend is to be paid from council budget funds.

In other business, the council passed two proclamations, one observing Nov. 11 as Veterans Day in Pierce County and the other recognizing Nov. 15 through Nov.19 as “American Education Week” in Pierce County.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment