All-State soccer honors for Cruisers

By Pat Jenkins The Dispatch Eatonville High School's memorable 2013 girls soccer season has been given even more luster with all-state recognition for three Cruisers. For the second year in a row, Machaela Graddy, the high-scoring star who's headed for Pacific Lutheran University after she graduates from Eatonville this year, was a first-team selection as a forward for the class 1A All-State team. Heidi Brankline was named as a goalkeeper to the second team. And KK Voss, a midfielder, received honorable mention. The selections were voted on by members of the Washington Stste Soccer Coaches Association. Graddy, who scored more than 100 goals in her high school career, and Voss are seniors. Brankline is a junior, and she's one of only eight non-seniors who were named to either the first or second teams. The statewide accolades complete a parade of post-season honors for the Nisqually League champion Cruisers. Graddy, for the second year in a row, was named Most Valuable Player of the Nisqually, and Heidi Brankline was the league's MVP goalkeeper. Voss was a first-team All-Nisqually choice, as were teammates Alyssa Ricketts and Emily Boettcher. The Cruisers' second-year coach, Mike Williams, was voted Coach of the Year in the Nisqually. Eatonville rolled through 18 matches undefeated in winning the Nisqually championship last fall. The Cruisers then advanced to the quarterfinals of the state 1A tournament before losing to King's 1-0 and finishing the 2013 season with a 19-2 record. Eatonville opened the state tourney with a 3-2 victory over Rochester in the first round. The Cruisers' scorers included Graddy and Voss. Besides King's, the only other team that beat Eatonville was Seattle Academy in a district playoff game that decided team seedings in the state tournament.. Eatonville has developed into a soccer powerhouse the past two years, compiling a combined win-loss record of 32-5-1.
Class 1A All-State girls soccer selections for 2013 (Voted on by Washington State Soccer Coaches Association)
MVP: Beth Stella, forward, Kings Coach of the Year: Alex Duxbury, University Prep First Team Forwards: Mchaela Graddy, senior, Eatonville; Beth Stella, senior, Kings; Mia Bladin, senior, Northwest; Alissa Soo, senior, University Prep; Sofia Barsher, senior, Seattle Academy. Midfielders: Taylor Lunde, senior, Meridian; Tianna Helm, senior, Cashmere; Linnea Soo, senior, University Prep; Deanna Avalos, junior, La Salle. Defenders: Jocelyn Cook-Cox, junior, Lakeside; Ashton Perry, senior, Kings; Morgan Gaston, junior, Seattle Christian; Olivia Thomson, senior, University Prep. Goalkeeper: Regan Gibbs, junior, Naches Valley; Emily Mark, senior, Seattle Academy. Second Team Forwards: Grace Martin, senior, La Salle; Camryn Althauser, senior, Rochester; Claire O'Brien, senior, University Prep. Midfielders: Heidi Fronk, junior, Kings Way; Kaley Roberts, sophomore, Naches Valley; BryLee Whitney, senior, Warden. Defenders: Lily O'Connor, senior, La Salle; Karissa Culley, senior, Meridian; Hannah Quinn, freshman, Montesano; Noelle Huck, junior, Naches Valley. Goalkeeper: Heidi Blankline, junior, Eatonville. Honorable Mention Forwards: Tyler Lime, junior, Naches Valley; Ashley Cook-Cox, senior, Lakeside; Haley Belanger, senior, Meridian; LeeAnn Rhoden, senior, Montesano; Brooke Goldsmith, senior, Elma; Abigail Kim, sophomore, Seattle Christian. Midfielders: KK Voss, senior, Eatonville; Anna Parker, sophomore, Kings; Megan Barwick, junior, Seattle Academy; Sierra Seymour, junior, Rochester. Defenders: Makenzie Matthes, junior, Naches Valley; Gretta Quinn, senior, Kings; Sara Dougan, junior, Lynden Christian.
Goalkeeper: Sydney Gospodinovich, freshman, Meridian


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment