MVP and coaching awards go to Cruisers

Individual honors for some of its players and its coach have been added to the Nisqually League championship that Eatonville High School's girls soccer team won during the 2013 season. All-Nisqually recognition announced by the league includes Machaela Graddy as Most Valuable Player for the second year in a row and Heidi Brankline as the MVP goalkeeper. Named to the first team of all-league performers were Alyssa Ricketts, KK Voss and Emily Boettcher. Two more Cruisers - Alexa Graddy and Jacquelyn Christoph GÇô were second-team selections, and honorable mention was accorded to Samantha Cox and Alex Phillips. Brankline, Phillips, Boettcher, Christoph and Alexa Graddy were also all-league choices in 2012. Mike Williams, in his second year leading the Cruisers, was voted Coach of the Year. His teams are 32-5-1 during his tenure. Eatonville rolled through 18 matches undefeated in winning the Nisqually championship. The Cruisers then advanced to the quarterfinals of the state 1A tournament before losing to King's 1-0 and finishing the season with a 19-2 record.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment